Skip navigation

Now you can get your 43 Verses in a format you can stick on your blog or other personal website. Just go to your 43V "My Verses" page and add this to the URL: "?format=js". If you don't want all your verses listed, you can add another argument called "count" like this: "&count=10". So the full URL might look like this: http://43verses.com/users/show/1?format=js&count=10

You can see an example of this in use at our family weblog. Scroll down a bit and look on the left where it says "Our Verses."

The code for this follows:

<h2>Our Verses</h2>
<p>from <a href="http://www.43verses.com/users/show/1">43verses.com</a></p>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.43verses.com/users/show/1?format=js&count=10"></script>
3 Comments

  1. OK, Tim. I think I need to stay on your family website with your mother. I don’t think this works for IE. I went ahead and downloaded firefox and it works there. I’m not a web programmer, but my thought is IE needs the name of the page before the ? (like index.html?format=js….). Any ideas? I know firefox has completely replaced IE on most everyone’s computer, but there’s still a few corporate sellouts that use it ;)

    Also, while I’m on the subject. If you enter a verse that doesn’t exist, the page that is displayed is probably not as elegant as it could be.

    Now for the compliment. This is a really cool idea, I haven’t seen anything like it. I really like the capability to add your own verses to your own blog or webpage, I think that’s a really great feature.

  2. Seems to work on our family blog in IE. I didn’t explain it very well, but if you type the url straight into the address bar, you’ll get different results with different browsers. Firefox happens to display the file, while IE tries to download it (I think). But, if you use the code above, you should be able to stick your verses on a real webpage. Let me know if I’m wrong.

    I think I improved the missing verse message a tiny bit. Try it again.

    Thanks for the compliment. There’s a few other apps out there with some of the same ideas, though it seems most of them are trying to do much more. I’ll keep it simple for now.

  3. I should have explained myself better. I only had trouble typing it in to the address bar. When I put the code sample in my page it worked fine, regardless of the browser. (actually, it’s on our site now, I just need to get more verses.)

    As far as the error message, if I type a book that doesn’t exist (like george 1:2) I get the error message I believe you intended. However, if I type a book that exists but a verse that does not (john 57:83), I get some sort of message about ‘rails’.


Leave a Reply

