Skip navigation

I needed a version of Lightbox that handled real web page urls instead of just images, so I hacked it myself. I looked into using Lightbox Gone Wild, but it seemed a misnomer; it’s more like a stripped down version of Lightbox. I like the effects and transitions of Lightbox, so I figured why not start there?

I’d love to show you an example, but I don’t have a host for it right now. Just imagine Lightbox that’s capable of showing any URL you throw at it.

  1. Download the original.
  2. Replace lightbox.js with my version here.
8 Comments

  1. I’ve been looking for something like this, and also didn’t want to dispose of those smooth effects from LB2….Good job! Now I can show QuickTime movies too!

    Thanks!

    • Zak
    • Posted April 8, 2008 at 1:19 am
    • Permalink

    I know this is old but I have to try.

    I have this on my new site but I am having problems with this in Safari3 on OSX. You can check it out here… http://www.visithuroncounty.com in Safari I get the pop up but it is just a white box nothing in it. I have tried an absolute path to the calendar but that did not work either. If anyone can tell me what I did wrong that would be great.

    • Kaihawaii
    • Posted April 25, 2008 at 4:40 am
    • Permalink

    hi tim, nice hack but I miss the prev and nextlink in my picture gallery (mygallery wp plugin)…
    you have any idea how I can fix?

    greet from Berlin

    • Kaihawaii
    • Posted April 25, 2008 at 6:02 am
    • Permalink

    ah, forget my question, i use now this …
    http://blog.evaria.com/2007/lightbox-media-iframe-and-ie/

  2. Hello Tim…
    Your hack is exactly what I was looking for …
    I have been using another hack until now – a simple one that puts the “close” button + navigation at the top of the lightbox.
    Is there any chance that it could be done with your version as well ?

    • Keith Gilbert
    • Posted May 22, 2008 at 5:17 pm
    • Permalink

    Thanks! This is just what I was looking for!

    • Peter
    • Posted November 1, 2008 at 8:08 am
    • Permalink

    Is there a way to call your iframe lightbox from flash?

  3. I’m afraid I know very little about Flash… I’m not sure.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Lightbox with QuickTime at drewd on 04 Nov 2006 at 3:43 pm

    […] I started with Tim Morgan’s Lightbox with Iframes, as developed from Lokesh Dhakar’s Lightbox2. I made a few minor changes to the pertinent JavaScript and CSS and wrote a PHP file to embed a custom movie based on a URL parameter. I make a link like so: […]

  2. By Code for Lightbox with QuickTime at drewd on 16 Dec 2006 at 3:05 pm

    […] I will not guarantee support for this code or responses to requests for aid in making it work. This offering is not my original work but rather a slight adaptation of Tim Morgan’s Lightbox with IFrames, as extended from Lokesh Dhakar’s Lightbox2. I highly recommend you obtain the most recent versions of Prototype and Scriptaculous but cannot guarantee that they will work with what I have provided. […]

  3. […] After a quick google search I stumbled upon the MPOV blog and a post on Lightbox with iframes. I downloaded his script and plugged it in instead of my current lightbox.js file. It worked great to display the movies. To display my Flash movies in the new iFrame LightBox JS v2.0 I just edited the existing link to the Flash created simple HTML file to include the rel=”lightbox” property. The HTML file is simply a file with an embedded Flash movie (.flv) playing file (.swf). […]

Comments are closed.

