Skip navigation

Update: Version 2 is available here.

Today, I finally got fed up with Wikipedia‘s lack of watchlist feeds, so I wrote a script that generates them.

A few of the photos I had uploaded to the Wikimedia Commons have been marked for deletion for some time now due to inadequate license information (my fault entirely), but I didn’t know it because I didn’t think about the Commons having its own separate watchlist. Oops. That got me thinking… these watchlists should have feeds so I don’t have to keep pulling up my bookmarks every day.

Now, until they actually add feeds to those pages, I have my own solution in a few lines of Ruby code: WatchlistRSS.zip This code can be run as a CGI on a web server and generates feeds like this.

So, I’m sharing this because the other two or three scripts out there written to do this suck IMO. (Or at least I couldn’t get them to work — which in that case means I suck :-)

2 Comments

  1. The link for the code is broken. Can you repost? Perhaps the domain name expired?

  2. The new MediaWiki API lets you fetch your watchlist as an RSS/ATOM feed. I have written an experimental Python script that uses this API. You can find it here: http://jyotirmoy.net/code.html#wikiwatch


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Wikipedia Watchlist Feed v2 « MPOV on 19 Feb 2007 at 4:32 pm

    […] Watchlist Feed v2 Posted February 19, 2007 Back before Wikipedia had an API, I created a script that scraped the HTML and generated a plain RSS feed of my watchlist. Now, it’s even easier […]

Leave a Reply

